The H.O.P.E. Coalition Mission

It is our mission to improve and strengthen our community by bringing together people and resources; to enlighten and educate the public as to the benefits and values of controlling alcohol and substance abuse; to encourage and improve communications in all levels of our community; to provide support and guidance to those in need. We feel it takes a whole community to raise a whole child.

Thanks for your support!


H.O.P.E. Coalition was formed in 1995 following a traffic fatality involving a teenager driving under the influence of alcohol.

In November of 1996 after a community wide meeting involving parents, teachers, business, civic leaders, organizations, students, clergy and law enforcement officers from local communities, H.O.P.E. Coalition became Incorporated as a nonprofit organization and became known as H.O.P.E. Coalition, Inc. The acronym H.O.P.E. meaning Helping Overcome Problems Everyday was chosen for the organization. A Board of Directors and committees were set up to discover what the needs in Western Johnson County were and how to go about fulfilling those needs.

In January 1997 Unitog donated the former Holden Manufacturing Building through the Neighborhood Assistance Program to H.O.P.E. Coalition, Inc. and it became known as the H.O.P.E. Community Center.

In 1997 H.O.P.E. Coalition, Inc. became a Community 2000, MoACT and CADCA members.

In 1998 H.O.P.E. became a United Way agency.

In 2000 H.O.P.E. became a member of the Neighbor Assistance Program and the new Community Activity Center (CAC) was completed.

The Thrift Center was opened in November of 2009 to expand services provided to our community.  The Thrift Center serves as a “point of contact” through which assistance can be acquired.

H.O.P.E. Coalition, Inc. partners with The Holden Area Ministerial Alliance to provide clothing, household items, emergency food, and utility assistance

Confidentiality is of utmost importance.

We are a United Way Agency.

Board of Directors

1st Vice President, Donna Chaney
2nd Vice President, John Roberts
Secretary, Tonyea Inglis
Treasurer, Donna Woods
Board Member, Bob Mickey
Board Member, Rusty Kephart
Board Member, Recolia Wehmeyer
Board Member, Kristy Talley
Board Member, Robin Stevenson